Weymouth & Melcombe Regis

Perambulating of the Boundaries 1896

Official boundaries of Weymouth & Melcombe Regis

The corporation with their officials will assemble at the Guildhall
Melcombe Regis on the morning of Wednesday, the 13th instant, at
8 O'clock and proceed to the promenade pier in the following order-:

Two Pioneers (J. Smith and S. Clark) with axes
The assistant Surveyor (Mr F. Gale) and a clerk from the office of the
Borough Surveyor carrying plans of the extended Borough
Four men with scaling ladders (A. Purchase, G. Curley, J. Hibberd, W. Parker)
Four official beaters (H. Curley, T. Brown, J. Brewer and S. J. Brewer)
The Borough Surveyor (Mr W Barlow Morgan) and harbour master (Mr R. A. Ayles)
The Chief Constable (Mr F. Eacock) bearing sword of office
Two members of the Borough Police Force
Twelve schoolboys - Three from each of the National schools in the Borough
Two town Sergeants bearing the ancient silver maces
The Worshipful the Mayor of Weymouth (Alderman T. H. Williams J.P.)
The Chaplain of the corporation (Rev. J. L. G. Hadlow M.A., R.D.)
The town clerk (Sir R. N. Howard J.P.)
The assistant town clerk (H. A. Huxtable, esq)
The Aldermen of the Borough
The councilors of the Borough
The Deputy Borough Treasurer (W. Bowles Barret, esq)
The clerk to the technical instructions committee (G. P. Symes, esq)
The medical officer of Health (B. Browning, esq)
The magistrates clerk (J. Howard Bowen)
The President of the fire brigade (E. L. W. Chare, esq)
The commanding officer E company 1st VBDR (Major George)
The commanding officer 1st DVA (Capt. Cowdell Barrett)
committee clerk (Mr W. R. Wallis)
The warfinger (Mr H. Warren)
The rate collector (Mr J. W. Board)
The inspector of nuisances (Mr J. Keeley)
The school attendance officer (Mr J. Pickard)
The inspector of weights and measures (Mr C. Hutchings)

by order

R. N. Howard
Town clerk


Weymouth & Melcombe Regis Page | OPC Home Page